13.11.2013Dr. Thomas Schwarz now chairman of CLIB2021
After undertaking the operational management of the cluster CLIB2021 in February, Dr. Thomas Schwarz was now elected by an unanimous vote as chairman of the board at the general assembly. Beside his function on the executive board, he will also maintain his role as CEO of instrAction GmbH.

„Being elected as chairman of the board confirms the course I have taken as cluster manager of CLIB2021 since spring. This focusing of our work and the alignment to the members’ benefits will from now on be consistently followed by the cluster“, said Dr. Thomas Schwarz, chairman of the board of CLIB2021.

Dr. Schwarz’ considerable entrepreneurial experiences gained as founder and CEO of biotop AG as well as CEO of instrAction GmbH will be a valuable addition to CLIB. Being a founding member of CLIB in 2007 he knows the cluster from the very beginning. Moreover he has been strongly involved in the cluster’s development during the last years as a member of the managing board and since spring as cluster manager.

Also elected to the extended board was Dr. Thorsten Eggert, CEO of evocatal, as well as Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels, research manager at VITO (Flemish Institute for Technological Research) in Belgium.

Dr. Stefan Müllner and Prof. Dr. Gerhard Schembecker left the extended board. Dr. Müllner was a member of the board since the foundation of the cluster in 2007. Prof. Dr. Schembecker belonged to the board since 2009 and will stay active as the representative of TU Dortmund University on the board of the CLIB-Graduate cluster. Dr. Schwarz expressed his sincere thanks to both former board members for their commitment in the association.

The current board now is as follows:

Executive Board:
Chairman: Dr. Thomas Schwarz, instrAction GmbH
Vice Chairman: Dr. Claus Dreisbach, LANXESS AG
Vice Chairman: Prof. Dr. Karl-Erich Jaeger, Heinrich-Heine-University Düsseldorf
Treasurer: Hans-Jürgen Mittelstaedt, VCI NRW

Extended Board:
Prof. Dr. Ludo Diels, VITO
Dr. Thorsten Eggert, evocatal GmbH
Dr. Claas Heise, NRW.BANK
Dr. Rainhard Koch, Bayer Technology Services GmbH
Dr. Achim Marx, Evonik Industries AG
Dr. Michael Piontek, ARTES Biotechnology GmbH
Dr. Peter Welters, Phytowelt GreenTechnologies GmbH
Prof. Dr. Volker Wendisch, Bielefeld University